New international appointments to SCC board


New international appointments to SCC board

Источник: Global Arbitration Review

The Arbitration Institute of the Stockholm Chamber of Commerce has named US arbitrator David W Rivkin as a vice chair of its board and welcomed six new board members from Egypt, Russia, Germany, Switzerland, the UK and Sweden.

The new members, who joined on 1 January, are:

  • Hans Sandberg, who has just retired as general counsel of Swedish industrial group Atlas Copco;
  • Mohammed Abdel Raouf, director of the Cairo Regional Centre for International Commercial Arbitration;
  • Klaus Peter Berger, a professor of law at the University of Cologne;
  • Alexey Kostin, chairman of the International Commercial Arbitration Court of Russia's Chamber of Commerce and Industry (MKAS);
  • Nathalie Voser, partner and head of international arbitration at Schellenberg Witmer in Zurich; and
  • Toby Landau QC of Essex Court Chambers in London.

They replace four departing members of the board: Swiss arbitrator Pierre Karrer; Alexander Komarov (Kostin's predecessor at MKAS); English arbitrator V V Veeder QC of Essex Court Chambers; and Anne Gynnerstedt, the new head of legal affairs at Swedish energy company Vattenfall and former general counsel of Saab.

In a statement the board paid tribute to the four departing members, thanking them "for their services and contribution" over several years.

The new appointments continue a tradition that began in 2006, when the SCC board announced it would include members from outside Sweden for the first time.

Rivkin, a partner at Debevoise & Plimpton in New York, was among the 2006 intake and was part of the committee behind the revised SCC arbitration rules that took effect in 2007.

SCC board members are appointed by the board of directors of the Stockholm Chamber of Commerce for a three-year period and are eligible for reappointment for a further three years. The SCC board consists of a chair, two to three vice chairs and a maximum of 12 additional members.

Besides the six new members, the current board consists of:

  • Johan Gernandt (chair), partner at Vinge in Stockholm;
  • David W Rivkin (vice chair);
  • Einar Lundgren (vice chair), general counsel of Skanska;
  • Yu Jianlong, secretary general of the China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission in Beijing;
  • Michael J Moser, an arbitrator in Hong Kong and door tenant at 20 Essex Street in London;
  • Jakob Ragnwaldh of Mannheimer Swartling in Stockholm;
  • Patricia Shaughnessy, senior lecturer at Stockholm University;
  • Margrete Stevens, a consultant at King & Spalding in Washington, DC;
  • Martin Wallin, partner at Hannes Snellman in Stockholm.

The board plays a key role in administering SCC arbitrations, including deciding on prima facie jurisdiction, arbitrator appointments, challenges to arbitrators and arbitration costs.

Left to right, top to bottom: Kostin, Sandberg, Berger, Raouf, Landau and Voser

Left to right, top to bottom: Kostin, Sandberg, Berger, Raouf, Landau and Voser

Распечатать страницу